The history of home fragrances

Radiant, evocative scents have become a crucial part of creating a welcoming home, but the history of the origin of home fragrances is often overlooked compared to other aspects of interior design. Today, reed diffusers and plug-in scents are everywhere, but where did they come from? Here we'll look at the history of the development of home fragrances and how some of our favorite scents have found their way into our daily lives.

A story as old as the world

Perfumes and home fragrances developed over five thousand years ago, as far as we know, with aromatic resins used in countries like Egypt to mask the smell of animal sacrifices. Indeed, perfumes have long had religious and spiritual connotations, which is still true for many today. While Egypt used perfumes for religious sacrifices, the ancient Greeks used them for ceremonies that included communication with the gods. The development of the Silk Road between Europe and China also paved the way for the trade of incense, spices and aromatic flowers between Europe, Asia and Africa. At the time, most perfumes took the form of oils, resins, scents and even ground flowers mixed with alcohol.

Perfumes that have stood the test of time

Some of the documented ancient perfumes are still those that are very commonly used today. This is the case of the blue lotus, a lily native to the Nile, used by the ancient chemist Tapputi. While this was mainly used by the ruling class, it is much more widely available today, popular due to its soft, sweet and slightly intoxicating scent. Many of the scents used in traditional Chinese incense have found their way into homes around the world, including sandalwood, a comforting, warm scent that evokes tranquility and nature.

Perfume and medicine

If perfume and medicine have always had a connection, in those days, perfumes were widely used to cover the smell of corruption and disease. In fact, the characteristic masks of the plague doctors, which looked like crows, had this famous beak to protect them from the smelly "miasma." They were filled with an array of herbs and spices, such as roses, mint, cloves, rose petals and ambergris, which are still very popular in modern home fragrances. However, few people use them today to hopefully ward off the black plague.

The night of the times

Both the active diffusion of perfumes and the revolution of steam extraction to distill perfumes emerged in the Middle Ages. For a brief period, the use of perfumes in Europe was considered decadent and despised by the Church. However, in the Middle East, chemistry was developing rapidly and steam extraction allowed for a much wider selection of perfumes, such as citrus fruits like oranges, still used to create a bright and pungent atmosphere in the home. It was also at this time that glass bottles for home fragrances began to make their mark, as crusaders brought back bottles of rosewater stolen from invaded lands.

A range of enlightening scents

When the Enlightenment hit Europe hard, chemistry, art and spirituality began to flourish again in the West. From the 1800s onward, home fragrances and perfumes developed hand in hand as discoveries in chemistry continued to expand the range of usable ingredients. Medieval townships became cities and perfumes were developed largely to mask the sewage odors and other unpleasant smells of urban life.

The rise of modern home fragrances

While the way we use and enjoy our scents has changed, much has not. Aromatherapy is tied to the classical world's ideas about how scents influence our health. For many, scents still have spiritual connotations, used for meditation and other esoteric practices. And of course, we still like to use perfumes to mask the smells we would rather not have in our homes. However, the use of glass bottles for room fragrances and reed diffusers to create a different atmosphere and landscape in the home is a seemingly modern practice. Reed diffusers were first documented in the book Aromatherapy: Essential Oils, Plant Hormones by French chemist René-Maurice Gattefossé.

The different ways we have used fragrances have varied over time, as have the materials we have created them with and the reasons we have used them. However, home fragrances have been a part of life for as long as we can remember. As the most emotionally evocative sense, there is no doubt that our love for different scents will continue to flourish as long as we have noses to smell them.

Partagez nos articles à vos proches et tentez de remporter un Iphone X

Facebook
WhatsApp
LinkedIn

Suivez-nous sur les réseaux sociaux

Gift idea - The Luxury Box

You have never purchased a product from the store The Luxury Box ? 
Order today and get 10% off: 

By entering your email address, you agree to receive your 10% promotional code as well as our offers and news.
You can unsubscribe at any time.

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart
Your shopping cart
There are no products in the cart!
Continue shopping

THE LUXURY BOX

Looking for a gift?

Try to win 100€ of gifts offered by the gift store - The Luxury Box

Fill in the information and participate in our contest

Favicon The Luxury Box

THE LUXURY BOX

Looking for a gift?

Try to win 100€ of gifts offered by The Luxury Box

Fill out the information to participate in our contest and receive 10% off your first order!

Cuty Love Pack - 60€ (in French)

Pack containing 1 small rose bear and 1 large rose bear

Wary Frame Pack - 50€.

Pack containing 1 small bear of roses and 1 personalized frame

Kiss Love Pack - 80€ (in French)

Pack containing 1 Kiss Box and 1 indoor spray

Pack - Lovely Cuty - 300

Pack containing 1 Golden Love Box and 1 heart of chocolates

Love Jewelry Pack - 80€ (in French)

Pack containing 1 small bear of roses and 1 luminous Jewelry Box

izmir escort - mersin escort - adana escort - antalya escort - escort istanbul
error: Alert: The content is protected
Current offers

L’histoire des parfums d’ambiance

Les odeurs rayonnantes et évocatrices sont devenues un élément crucial de la création d’une maison accueillante, mais l’histoire de l’origine des parfums d’intérieur est souvent négligée par rapport à d’autres aspects de la décoration intérieure. Aujourd’hui, les diffuseurs de roseaux et les parfums à brancher sont partout, mais d’où viennent-ils ? Nous allons examiner ici l’histoire du développement des parfums d’ambiance et la façon dont certaines de nos odeurs préférées ont trouvé leur place dans notre vie quotidienne.

Une histoire vieille comme le monde

Les parfums et les parfums d’ambiance se sont développés il y a plus de cinq mille ans, d’après ce que nous savons, avec des résines aromatiques utilisées dans des pays comme l’Égypte pour masquer l’odeur des sacrifices d’animaux. En effet, les parfums ont longtemps eu des connotations religieuses et spirituelles, ce qui est encore vrai pour beaucoup aujourd’hui. Alors que l’Égypte utilisait les parfums pour les sacrifices religieux, les Grecs de l’Antiquité s’en servaient pour les cérémonies qui incluaient la communication avec les dieux. Le développement de la route de la soie entre l’Europe et la Chine a également ouvert la voie au commerce de l’encens, des épices et des fleurs aromatiques entre l’Europe, l’Asie et l’Afrique. À l’époque, la plupart des parfums prenaient la forme d’huiles, de résines, de parfums et même de fleurs moulues mélangées à de l’alcool.

Des parfums qui ont traversé le temps

Certains des parfums anciens documentés sont encore ceux qui sont très couramment utilisés aujourd’hui. C’est le cas du lotus bleu, un lys originaire du Nil, utilisé par le chimiste antique Tapputi. Si cette œuvre était principalement utilisée par la classe dirigeante, elle est beaucoup plus largement disponible aujourd’hui, populaire grâce à son parfum doux, sucré et légèrement enivrant. De nombreuses senteurs utilisées dans l’encens traditionnel chinois ont trouvé leur place dans les foyers du monde entier, notamment le bois de santal, un parfum réconfortant et chaud qui évoque la tranquillité et la nature.

Parfum et médecine

Si le parfum et la médecine ont toujours eu un lien, à cette époque, les parfums étaient largement utilisés pour couvrir l’odeur de la corruption et de la maladie. En fait, les masques caractéristiques des médecins de la peste, qui ressemblaient à des corbeaux, avaient ce fameux bec pour les protéger des “miasmes” malodorants. Ils étaient remplis d’une série d’herbes et d’épices, telles que des roses, de la menthe, des clous de girofle, des pétales de rose et de l’ambre gris, qui sont toujours très populaires dans les parfums d’intérieur modernes. Cependant, rares sont ceux qui les utilisent aujourd’hui pour conjurer la peste noire, espérons-le.

La nuit des temps

La diffusion active des parfums et la révolution de l’extraction à la vapeur pour distiller les parfums sont toutes deux apparues au Moyen Âge. Pendant une brève période, l’utilisation des parfums en Europe était considérée comme décadente et méprisée par l’Église. Cependant, au Moyen-Orient, la chimie se développait rapidement et l’extraction à la vapeur permettait une sélection beaucoup plus large de parfums, tels que les agrumes comme les oranges, toujours utilisés pour créer une atmosphère vive et piquante dans la maison. C’est également à cette époque que les flacons en verre pour parfums d’ambiance ont commencé à faire parler d’eux, les croisés ayant ramené des bouteilles d’eau de rose volées sur les terres envahies.

Un éventail d’odeurs éclairantes

Lorsque le siècle des Lumières a frappé l’Europe de plein fouet, la chimie, l’art et la spiritualité ont recommencé à s’épanouir en Occident. À partir des années 1800, les parfums d’intérieur et les parfums se sont développés main dans la main, les découvertes en chimie continuant à élargir la gamme des ingrédients utilisables. Les townships médiévaux sont devenus des villes et les parfums ont été développés en grande partie pour masquer les odeurs d’égouts et toutes les autres odeurs désagréables de la vie urbaine.

L’essor des parfums d’ambiance modernes

Si la façon dont nous utilisons et apprécions nos parfums a changé, beaucoup de choses n’ont pas changé. L’aromathérapie est liée aux idées du monde classique sur la façon dont les odeurs influencent notre santé. Pour beaucoup, les parfums ont encore des connotations spirituelles, utilisées pour la méditation et d’autres pratiques ésotériques. Et bien sûr, nous aimons toujours utiliser les parfums pour masquer les odeurs que nous préférons ne pas avoir chez nous. Cependant, l’utilisation de flacons en verre pour parfums d’ambiance et de diffuseurs à roseaux pour créer une atmosphère et un paysage différents dans la maison est une pratique apparemment moderne. Les diffuseurs à roseaux ont été documentés pour la première fois dans l’ouvrage Aromathérapie : Les Huiles Essentielles, Hormones Végétales par le chimiste français René-Maurice Gattefossé.

Les différentes façons dont nous avons utilisé les parfums ont varié au fil du temps, tout comme les matériaux avec lesquels nous les avons créés et les raisons pour lesquelles nous les avons utilisés. Cependant, les parfums d’ambiance font partie de la vie depuis aussi loin que l’on puisse remonter. Comme il s’agit du sens le plus évocateur d’émotions, il ne fait aucun doute que notre amour pour les différentes senteurs continuera de s’épanouir tant que nous aurons des nez pour les sentir.

Partagez nos articles à vos proches et tentez de remporter un Iphone X

Facebook
WhatsApp
LinkedIn

Suivez-nous sur les réseaux sociaux

Idée cadeau - The Luxury Box

Vous n’avez jamais acheté un produit de la boutique The Luxury Box ? 
Commandez aujourd’hui et profitez de 10% de réduction : 

En indiquant votre email, vous acceptez de recevoir votre code promotionnel de 10% ainsi que nos offres et nouveautés.
Vous pouvez vous désinscrire à tout moment.

Ecrivez et appuyez sur Enter pour effectuer une recherche

Votre panier d'achat
Votre panier
Il n'y a pas d'articles dans le panier !
Continuer les achats

THE LUXURY BOX

Envie d'un cadeau ?

Tentez de remporter 100€ de cadeaux offert par la boutique de cadeaux - The Luxury Box

Complétez les informations et participer à notre jeux concours

Favicon The Luxury Box

THE LUXURY BOX

Envie d'un cadeau ?

Tentez de remporter 100€ de cadeaux offert par The Luxury Box

Complétez les informations pour participer à notre jeux concours et recevoir 10% de réduction sur votre première commande !

Pack Cuty Love - 60€

Pack contenant 1 petit ours de roses et 1 grand ours de roses

Pack Frame Wary - 50€

Pack contenant 1 petit ours de roses et 1 cadre personnalisé

Pack Kiss Love - 80€

Pack contenant 1 Kiss Box et 1 spray d'interieur

Pack - Lovely Cuty - 300€

Pack contenant 1 Golden Love Box et 1 coeur de chocolats

Pack Love Jewelry - 80€

Pack contenant 1 petit ours de roses et 1 Jewelry Box lumineuse

izmir escort - mersin escort - adana escort - antalya escort - escort istanbul
error: Alerte: Le contenu est protégé
Offres du moment